Everybody Loves Beatrice

I suppose I’m not alone in that Much Ado About Nothing is my favorite Shakespeare play, or nearly. And that Beatrice is my favorite character therein.

I went and saw the play last night with my wonderful family and my Sun Valley hoodie and apple pie at intermission, and it was wonderful because I love Shakespeare and grass and sunsets and so on.

But, although I like to think of myself as an original person, even I am not able to escape Beatrice’s charms.

Hero, the other female lead in the play, is entirely too vapid, and not in the kind where everyone else loves her. She is flat and ordinary and pretty in a very expected sort of way, and the only scene in which she has any depth is when she and Ursula are gossiping about Benedick’s “love” for Beatrice while Beatrice is listening.

Beatrice, on the other hand, is spunky and outspoken and dynamic in the most wonderful possible way. She is unexpected and brilliant. She surprises you at every turn. She is a wonder. It’s no surprise that everyone loves her. I’d like to be a Beatrice of sorts.

I also may have been impressed by Beatrice because in one scene of ISF’s version last night, she wears a top hat and tails – and absolutely rocks it. It reminded me of my best friend Hannah, who wears the occasional suit and also rocks it. I feel like Hannah would have enjoyed Beatrice.

I was driving my sister to Driver’s Ed today and as I was zigzagging out of our neighborhood it occurred to me that this summer is the first, probably of many, that I will spend here in my tiny hometown knowing that I won’t be here to see it end.

I was also starting to compile the earliest posts over at the Edublogs URL into a Word document on a flash drive today and it struck me how much my voice has changed. Ha, no, not that way. I’ve always been a soprano. But as a writer, I have grown a great deal. It’ll be interesting to see if anyone else thinks that’s interesting too, although I am printing the book nevertheless.

Summer days are here again, and I sit on my bed and blog and eat cheese and read library books. I don’t know what I want to do with myself in the fall; there are things I don’t understand about the world I am diving into. I am scared and uncertain today, and I don’t know what I’m doing.

I sometimes wonder if I’m not incredibly emotionally advanced for my age, and the fact that I’m pointing out to my mother what she does that bothers me and telling her she needs to work on it at seventeen is a little unsettling and I don’t know what to do with it. But it’d be nice to blame it on that, so it is highly unlikely that it is the case.

Sometimes it hurts to remember other days when I was happy. Not that I’m unhappy now. I mean right now I’m not particularly content, but the general emotional climate these days has been pretty okay. But I remember other days when I was just as happy if not a little happier, and it almost hurts my heart to think about them.

I did not know that, in Much Ado About Nothing, Beatrice and Benedick had had a relationship before the play began which did not end well – there’s a reference to it somewhere. It gives the whole play another facet. I think I’d prefer to think that they just sparred for years and years and finally fell in love. But I guess there’s a first time for everything, and that usually means you’ve failed at it and need the second chance. Okay, so Much Ado is about second chances. I guess we all need them. That works well enough. Speaking of second chances, I went to the library today and got A House Like a Lotus again, so maybe that will inspire a more content mindset.

I just realized that I often use the word content when I think of happiness. I wonder if perhaps I should learn something from that.

Leave a Reply

