Love

 In my short life I have thought often about love. Don’t ask me why. But it’s true. If I had devoted as much time to my studies as I have to writing about love, I might have the elusive, coveted 4.0 today. The main reason I don’t (and don’t care that I don’t) is for another post. But perhaps it would be true. – “Ideally,” February 3, 2012

I’m honestly surprised I don’t have a post titled just plain “Love” already. I think it really is what gets me up in the morning.

Hannah once told me I love easily. I think she’s right.

In the quote above I was actually not referring to love the way I usually refer to it now. I was using the general term to refer to romantic, which bothers me to no end when other people do it now. But even though I was using it incorrectly then, if you change the meaning now, the statement is still correct. In my short life I have thought often about love.

I really think it is what gets me up in the morning.

I had my first crush at the age of six. I still vividly recall a moment, walking on the sidewalk that ran down to the field where the boys all played [whatever it is boys play]. There was a ton of pea gravel scattered over this sidewalk. In some sort of tackle, the boy in question landed on his back with his head right at my feet, set to slam into the gravelly sidewalk. I can’t remember if I got my hand between his head and the ground in time or not. Either way, he was up and away within seconds.

(Oh, and I dreamed about him one time. What an omen, right?)

I honestly believe love is everything.

e. e. cummings wrote a poem titled “my father moved through dooms of love” which contains a line I adore. love is the whole and more than all. 

I’m listening to a song right now by Avicii, “Wake Me Up,” which contains the line, Life’s a game made for everyone, and love is the prize. 

Mr. Bird’s profile emphasizes the universality of love.

When I was not quite sixteen years old I stumbled across my mother’s sheet music copy of “And So It Goes” by Billy Joel. I don’t think I’ve ever completely blogged about my love for this song and its incredible love. But I read the lyrics. Played the song. Fell in love with it. They are as follows:

In every heart there is a room, a sanctuary safe and strong, to heal the wounds from lovers past until a new one comes along. I spoke to you in cautious tones, you answered me with no pretense. And still I feel I said too much. My silence is my self-defense. And every time I’ve held a rose, it seem I’ve only felt the thorns. And so it goes, and so it goes, and so will you soon I suppose. But if my silence made you leave, then that would be my worst mistake. So I will share this room with you, and you can have this heart to break. And this is why my eyes are closed; it’s just as well for all I’ve seen. And so it goes, and so it goes, and you’re the only one who knows. So I would choose to be with you, that’s if the choice were mine to make. But you can make decisions too, and you can have this heart to break. And so it goes, and so it goes, and you’re the only one who knows. 

Do you hear the beautiful sacrifice in those words?

Madeleine L’Engle has inspired me extensively about love. Love with open hands and all of that. I won’t write all of that now. But she is important.

Shakespeare is important.

John Green is important.

Doctor Who is important.

Lucy Maud Montgomery is important.

Journalism. Sonnets. Jazz are important.

Love, I think, is everything. 

I am proud to say that I will be living for love for the rest of my life, for all the love that has yet to come down the pipe. Think of it – all the love that gets a chance to be when you are born. You are born of love, and so much more can come both from and to you until the day you die.

Love, I think, is everything.

Leave a Reply

