Book Survey

Because I spend a disproportionate amount of time poking around in other people’s corners of the Internet, today I found a book survey.

Being a fan of Charlie McDonnell’s YouTube channel eventually led me to Bryarly Bishop’s blog. And she posted a book survey. And I liked it. So I’m taking it. Here’s that.

1. Favorite childhood book?
…um, well. Historically I have been notoriously bad at picking favorites; though I’ve managed to refine that ability when it comes to colors, songs and episodes of Doctor Who, I still can’t pick a favorite book. When I was younger I loved Little House on the Prairie and the Chronicles of Narnia, and the Lord of the Rings as well once I finally got into them. And lots and lots of Frances Hodgson Burnett and Louisa May Alcott and Lucy Maud Montgomery. Quite a lot of Lucy Maud, in fact.
2. What are you reading right now?
The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. And Ibsen’s A Doll’s House for humanities.
3. What books do you have on request at the library?
None. I guess I live in the moment, bookwise.
4. Bad book habit?
I underline a lot.
5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
Brothers K and a book of Aphra Behn’s plays which I haven’t started yet.
6. Do you have an e-reader?
Not a dedicated one. I have iBooks on my iPod (all the little i’s!) but the only thing on there is Sense and Sensibility.
7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
I…both?
8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Not because I have a blog.
9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
February is not even over, so this question is a bit cramped. I have no idea. I have not come across many books I didn’t like. I think the last one was Vanity Fair for sophomore English. I should go read it again.
10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
All of them? I reread The Other Side of the Sun, so that was awesome.
11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
I don’t know that I have a comfort zone.
12. What is your reading comfort zone?
…..
13. Can you read on the bus?
I used to do nothing but read on car trips. I still remember the fateful day when I looked up and realized that I could avoid motion sickness by tearing my eyes away from the page. I was eight or nine, it was winter, and we were going to McCall.
14. Favorite place to read?
Everywhere? Bed, desk, piano bench, floor, couches in the business building…
15. What is your policy on book lending?
Usually if I lend a book it is because I basically forced the other person to take it because I thought they would like it. So it rarely happens, but it does happen occasionally. I used to be sort of a compulsive borrower; in school my friends called me the “book thief” because if they ever brought books I would nab them, read them throughout class, and give them back at the end. Unless, in the case of The Fault in Our Stars, I sort of kept it for the rest of the day and finished it only minutes after it became impossible to give it back. (Sorry Hannah!)
16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
No.
17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
Once or twice. I underline to ridiculous extent.
18. How about with text books?
Well, no.
19. What is your favorite language to read in?
English, usually, although I LOVE LOVE LOVE my Swedish copy of The Fault in Our Stars.
20. What makes you love a book?
I tend to hug Madeleine L’Engle books after I finish them, without exception. I also tend to call books “beautiful.” I don’t know what makes them beautiful, because I use it for a wide range of books.
21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
If I love it. Or if I think the other person would love it. For instance, Derek would enjoy Madeleine L’Engle’s A Ring of Endless Light.
22. Favorite genre?
I don’t stick to genres, necessarily.
23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
I wish I read more philosophy, actually.
24. Favorite biography?
There were two at my hometown library which I checked out time and time again, and they were Kate Douglas Wiggin and England’s Queen Anne.
25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
I used to have the 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens, but after a while I started to hate it. Not sure where it is now.
26. Favorite cookbook?
My mother has this one called “America’s Favorite Brand-Name Cookbook” or something, and when we were younger my sisters and I used to flip through it and drool (not literally) over all the gorgeous pictures. When we got older we renamed it the “Big Fat Cookbook” and tried every cheesecake variation in it.
27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
So far, Brothers Karamazov takes the cake. Again.
28. Favorite reading snack?
Call me weird, but graham crackers and lemonade. It’s actually really yummy.
29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
I can’t think of any in which other people’s hype ruined it for me, but I do remember reading the first two Inkheart books in like sixth grade and thinking they were ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. When the third came out when I was in eighth grade I reread them all and they started out well but the storyline deteriorated quickly as it went along. Rather like a Steven Moffat script.
30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
Generally, I guess? I don’t listen to critics much.
31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I have not had to do this very much.
32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?
All of them.
33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read? 
The Count of Monte Cristo.
34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
I suppose Tolstoy is up there.
35. Favorite Poet?
e. e. cummings. Goethe.
36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
Right now it’s two.
37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
I feel like I have done this, though I can’t think of the book.
38. Favorite fictional character?

Alyosha (Brothers Karamazov, sort of at the top of my consciousness), Stella (Other Side of the Sun), Aunt Olivia (also Other Side of the Sun), Emma (Certain Women), Polly (The Arm of the Starfish, A House Like a Lotus), Max (A House Like a Lotus), Adam Eddington (The Arm of the Starfish), Valancy (The Blue Castle), Kristin (Kristin Lavransdatter), should I keep going?
39. Favorite fictional villain?
I don’t like the villains!
40. Books you’re most likely to bring on vacation?
The Love Letters, my Swedish The Fault in Our Stars, The Hobbit, Christy by Catherine Marshall.
41. The longest you’ve gone without reading.
Too long.
42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
Refused to finish A Tale of Two Cities. I’m going to give it another shot someday. Couldn’t handle the Count of Monte Cristo or Crime and Punishment when I tried to read them in the tenth grade.
43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Unfortunately, the internet.
44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
Buh. Contrary to popular opinion, I thought the Voyage of the Dawn Treader version released in 2010 was pretty good. (Was that really 2010?! *quick google* It was. WOW.)
45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Also buh. I won’t say that I was explicitly disappointed by the Lord of the Rings films (or the two already released Hobbit films), but I love picking out the parts where they deviated from the books.
46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
Somewhere round fifteen dollars. I suck.
47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
I generally jump right in.
48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
If I just didn’t want to keep going.
49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
Alphabetical order by author or by size. Always one of the two.
50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
I keep them, generally. I love rereading them.
51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
I still haven’t read the Harry Potter series. GASP.
52. Name a book that made you angry.
Vanity Fair was really difficult because Becky Sharp is very hard to feel sorry for. Madame Bovary was similar. Also, When the Legends Die, from sophomore English, made me mad. It was not relevant to the class or very fun to read. I disagreed with the political message.
53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
Great Expectations, The Art of Racing in the Rain, Pride and Prejudice. It took me an embarrassingly long time to actually finish Pride and Prejudice.
54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
I can’t think of any.
55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
John Green and Madeleine L’Engle.
Leave a Reply

