Trying

Tonight I walked out of the student union and it was trying to snow.

And I was thinking about trying to smile.

It’s funny – it’s the simplest thing in the world, and how often does it prove the most difficult, as well?

Love one another and you will be happy. It’s as simple and as difficult as that.

Michael Leunig

It’s always easiest as you’re walking away, isn’t it? Easiest to think of what you’ll do next as you do nothing now.

I called my father today and we talked for a while about majors and languages and what have you. That was nice.

Last night on the internet someone remarked that getting married at 22 is a lot like leaving a party at 9:30 pm, and someone else countered that yeah, but you’re going home from the party with your favorite person in the world. I’ve been thinking about that.

I mean, love is a ridiculity that it is no use to try to schedule. I’m not trying to say that I plan to get married at 22. I just want to have a favorite person in the world. I have favorite people, yes, but a favorite particular person has yet to come along and be better than any of them.

I am remembering a bit in one of the earliest Anne of Green Gables books in which Anne is chatting with her mentor, Mrs. Allan, and Mrs. Allan says smilingly in response to Anne’s delight at friendship, “Friendship is very beautiful, but someday…” and then trails off because (I’m paraphrasing) she doesn’t want to brush the bloom from that yet undreamed dream of romantic love.

(No wonder we think romantic love is the be-all, end-all.)

But I don’t think it’s unimportant. The idea of a single love lasting a lifetime is attractive to say the least. I just am very excited to stumble upon that person. And maybe have no idea that it’s them, at first. I just would love to love, I guess.

I need to go to bed.

Leave a Reply

