Dreaming Still

So I’m thinking, as usual. You know how it goes.

I listened to Don McLean’s song “Castles in the Air” a lot today.

I also had a weird/rather nice dream.

And a rather nice day yesterday, and the day before that, as well. For a lot of reasons.

Basically, I have…

*closes eyes, sighs deeply a la Charlie McDonnell*

a crush.

On somebody who is not a middle-aged British actor.

WHOA WHAT. YES. ME.

So, starting from like three hours ago and working backwards…

Don McLean sang to me “Perhaps she’ll understand if you tell it to her plain,” which, pronouns aside, was like “Hello yes you DUH!”

If you tell it to a person plain.

Hm.

Also, I woke up this morning (or maybe in the middle of the night) out of a dream in which I said, “So listen, I think you’re really cool, and if you have a free moment this week we should get lunch together or something.”

Oh dear, I don’t remember if that is how it actually ended.

And just generally liking to catch people’s eyes.

Anyway, I tell you what I miss. I MISS HANNAH. And I want to talk to her about all this.

And with that I leave you with the lovely lovely lyrics to “Castles in the Air.”

And if she asks you why you can tell her that I told you
That I’m tired of castles in the air
I’ve got a dream I want the world to share an’ castle walls
Just leave me to despair

Hills of forest green where the mountains touch the sky
A dream come true, I’ll live there ’til I die
I’m asking you, to say my last goodbye
The love we knew, ain’t worth another try

Save me from all the trouble and the pain
I know I’m weak but I can’t face that girl again
Tell her the reasons why I can’t remain
Perhaps she’ll understand if you tell it to her plain

Oh, but how can words express the feel of sunlight
In the morning in the hills away from city strife
I need a country woman for my wife
I’m city born but I love the country life

For I will not be part of her Cocktail-Generation Partner’s Waltz,
Devoid of all romance
The music plays and everyone must dance
I’m bowing out, I need a second chance

Save me from all the trouble and the pain
I know I’m weak but I can’t face that girl again
Tell her the reasons why I can’t remain
Perhaps she’ll understand if you tell it to her plain

And if she asks you why you can tell her that I told you
That I’m tired of castles in the air
I’ve got a dream I want the world to share an’ castle walls
Just lead me to despair

Leave a Reply

