Defiance, Dalliance and the Linguistic Origin of Algebra

Hi.

I’m supposed to be working on a research paper about love. Don’t tell anyone.

So today is April 30, and apparently it’s the 10-year anniversary of the movie Mean Girls. I think I’ve mentioned before how very not fond of that movie I am. I very obstinately didn’t wear pink today. Yay for me, defying cultural traditions I don’t care about.

What I have been doing is playing (over and over and over again) the Frozen soundtrack in Swedish. HOLY COW IT’S A THING OF WONDER. Underligt förunderligt magi, which the video I’m watching translates to “peculiar, wondrous magic,” but which, by virtue of its using the same word twice, reminds me of Lewis Carroll’s “Curiouser and curiouser!” IT’S BEAUTIFUL. I’ve been sitting in front of my computer fangirling to unfortunate levels and nobody understands how great it is.

Also, I finally ceased to exist independently of Facebook. It’s eating my life already. Oops.

I spent a lot of time today stirring up old dust and cleaning out my room. The end of the year approacheth!

And one last bit of lovely trivia: the word algebra comes from the Arabic “al jebr,” which means “the reunion of broken parts,” and suddenly all those tortured years of high school math are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

