Econ Avoidance

Oh hi.

So I’m avoiding studying for my econ final and I thought I’d do a thirty-day challenge in a few hours because I can and it’s fun and I need to open the dam a bit and be a better blogger and also so as not to have to study for another couple hours or so.

Day 1: A recent picture of you and 15 interesting facts about yourself

2014-03-12kailyn

1. I’m the one in the bandana. (The other is my friend Kailyn.) I love wearing bandanas.

2. I was born on the fourth of July. (There’s a song for that.)

3. As a rule I don’t drink soda. This leads to me drinking a lot of lemonade at restaurants.

4. I’m a proud member of the business fraternity Alpha Kappa Psi.

5. I’m double majoring in accounting and German at Idaho State University.

6. I was published in the national teen writing magazine Teen Ink five different times.

7. I edited my high school newspaper for two years. It shaped me.

8. I speak German, Swedish, a smattering of Spanish, and am starting Japanese in the fall.

9. I have two younger sisters.

10. Both of my parents are teachers.

11. I am a grammar Nazi. But a nice one.

12. I just recently got a Facebook for the first time.

13. I finished a “story” when I was ten. I have started thirty-odd more “novels” since and never finished any.

14. I learned to speak Swedish at an immersion camp in Bemidji, Minnesota. Still one of my favorite places on earth.

15. I can tell you all the languages I speak in all the languages I speak.

Day 2: The meaning behind your blog name

Okay, so once upon a time I was being poetic and slightly teen-angsty and very silly and I was like, “Do you suppose there are signposts along the Milky Way?” and because I am on a journey (life) and could use the occasional signpost, I called my blog Along the Milky Way.

Day 3: A picture of you and your friends

There actually is no picture in existence which has just me and my two best friends in all the world, so here’s the closest we’ll get.

2013-11-25hannahkelseyderekkriskarli

From left: Kris, Karli, Hannah (best friend), Derek (best friend), Doughnut Boy (face half-hidden), me (in the red fez) and Kelsey.

Day 4: A habit that you wish you didn’t have

I like all my habits. I like myself.

Day 5: A picture of somewhere you’ve been to
Sjolunden

This is Sjölunden, the immersion camp where I learned Swedish when I was in high school. I love it so very much.

Day 6: Favorite superhero and why

So I have to admit a severe weakness for Andrew Garfield’s lovely face, so I’m fond of the latest Spider-Man movies, but quite honestly the best superhero ever is the Doctor because he is neither a good guy nor a bad guy, but a try to help guy. (Or a girl, one day.)

Day 7: A picture of someone/something that has had the biggest impact on youl'engle

I’ve learned a lot from a lot of places, people and things, but Madeleine L’Engle is a biggie. Her words inspire me to do a lot of things, among them love better and write more, and maybe, with what I learn from her, I will eventually finish something I start.

Day 8: Short term goals for the month and why

I just want to pass my finals with the best grades I can get (which I am not doing much towards at the moment!), enjoy my week or so of vacation, and be effective and useful when I start working with the swim team in the next couple of weeks. I really need to learn how to be an adult.

Day 9: Something you’re proud of in the past few days

The decision to not use my honors accounting project in place of the one for the actual class.

Day 10: Favorite things

Well, I suck at favorites; it’s just a law of the universe. I will probably never be able to pick a favorite book or a favorite music artist, and I’ve come to terms with that. But I do have some other favorite things:

Author: Madeleine L’Engle

Song: “And So It Goes,” by Billy Joel

Color: Red

Flavor of Gatorade: Orange

Actor/Actress: Bob Newhart and Judi Dench

Television show: Doctor Who

Episode of Doctor Who: “The Doctor Dances,” “Nightmare in Silver,” “The Doctor’s Wife”

Doctor: Christopher Eccleston’s Ninth

Companion: Martha Jones and Clara Oswald

Music album: An Innocent Man by Billy Joel; Hometown Girl by Mary Chapin Carpenter; Grand Piano Canyon by Bob James; Compact Jazz by Ella Fitzgerald; The Best of Don McLean

Font family: Minion, Arno, Caslon, Chaparral, Archer

Language (Spoken): Swedish

Language (Written): English and Gallifreyan

Word: Star and derivatives (English), Aufzug (German, elevator), kanske (Swedish, maybe)

Season: All the inbetweentimes

Flower: Red carnations

Day 11: Another picture of you and your friends2014-03-12kailynshelby

From left: Shelby, me, Kailyn (college buddies playing disc golf and not being very good, or maybe that was just me)

Day 12: Why you made a blog

It began as an assignment for journalism class. And then it sort of became a thing.

Day 13: A letter to someone who has hurt you recently

Dear Nevermindwho,

It’s okay, asshole. Be good to yourself.

Love, E.

Day 14: A picture of you and your family

2013-05-24family

This is when I graduated high school. Teacher parents and goofy sisters.

Day 15: Put your iPod on shuffle: first 10 songs that play.

I don’t really use my iPod anymore because Spotify is awesome, but here goes, in order:

“God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen” from Christmas Live by Mannheim Steamroller; “Sweet Baby James” from James Taylor’s Greatest Hits; the reprise of “Belle” from the Beauty and the Beast Broadway soundtrack; a track from the Chronicles of Narnia audiobooks; “Cottontail” from Duke Ellington’s Digital Duke; “Beauty and the Beast” from the Broadway soundtrack again; “It’s No Secret” from the Red Button’s album She’s About to Cross My Mind; more from the Chronicles of Narnia; “A Merrier Christmas” by Dianne Reeves from the album Yule Struttin’; and Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “I Put My Ring Back On” from the album The Age of Miracles. That’s actually not too terribly embarrassing.

Day 16: Another picture of yourself

2013-05finalweekofschool

How I feel about being asked to post another picture of my face.

Day 17: Someone you would want to switch lives with for one day and why.

I don’t care who, but I want to switch lives with a guy for one day just so I can see how their brains work.

Day 18: Plans/dreams/goals you have

Study in Sweden and maybe Germany, graduate, go to grad school at the University of Minnesota, work at Sjölunden for a few summers, write some books, own a golden retriever, do a triathlon, study all the languages on my extensive list, have a family.

Day 19: Nicknames you have and why

My parents have made endless variations on my actual name because they are very good at nicknaming things, but I’m not going to share any of those here because they’re embarrassing and only the four people I grew up living with are allowed to call me those. I do answer to Red, because I want to, but very few people ever call me that.

Day 20: Someone you see yourself marrying/being with in the future

I’m not going to cite anyone specific, because that’s a gamble if ever I saw one, but I think the person I end up with will be male and someone who thinks because I think a lot and talk a lot about what I think and I need someone who will bounce off me and come back with something else for me to think about. I can’t handle somebody who would just go, “Wow, yeah” all the time. I also want someone who would be interested in and able to do lots of things, and who would appreciate this quote from Robert A. Heinlein: “A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.” And I do not want a person who will listen to me talk in other languages and say something like, “I never could get the hang of that foreign gibberish.” Basically everything else is negotiable.

Day 21: A picture of something that makes you happy.

The Ninth Doctor

Day 22: What makes you different from everyone else?

Here’s what I think about that.

https://alongthemilkyway.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/numbers-and-ontology/

Day 23: Something you crave a lot

Affection and cheese.

Day 24: A letter to your parents

Dear Mom and Dad,

I owe everything I have and am to you. I’m never going to be able to pay it back, but I can thank you – about fifty times. I love you. Also, I’m sorry for everything I said to you between 2008 and 2011. With love, E.

Day 25: What there is to be found in my bag

Nothing particularly exciting – pencils, books – but chapstick. I can never be bothered to remember chapstick in the morning, so I leave one in my backpack all the time.

Day 26: What you think about your friends

They’re great people who do great things and I am lucky to have them love me.

Day 27: Why are you doing this 30 day challenge?

Boredom. Also, econ avoidance.

Day 28: How have you changed in the last year?

Hmm. Started watching Doctor Who; started eating healthier and working out a lot; found friends; learned to forgive.

Day 29: In the past month, what have you learned?

That boys are thirsty; that I love tea; and that all my friends are very human.

Day 30: Favorite song.

I already listed my favorite song, so I’ll just put a different really good song. “Castles in the Air,” by Don McLean.

 

Leave a Reply

