Sofia Jannok – New Year’s Eve

So Sofia Jannok is a singer who sings in Sami and English and I absolutely adore her. My favorite of her songs is “Irene,” but recently I looked her up on Spotify and the album that contains “Irene” isn’t there, so I had to branch out (which is probably a good thing).

And I found her song “New Year’s Eve,” which is sung in English, but which is written as though it is a translation from something, and so, so beautiful in a sort of bare, simple, unafraid way. Here, have the lyrics.

Dressed up people by the table

Someone’s standing up for speech

To see us coming they’re not able

Nor our magic feeling reach

Candles burning down so slowly

May I take your hand to dance?

Orchestra’s playing for us only

This I’d call true elegance

Some time ago there was a night

You called the spirits and they came

We both know now that they were right

When the answer was my name

The air of love might not exist

it’s hard to believe what is unseen

But black on white cannot be missed

There’s more than air in between

Together last night of the year

A kiss of yours, a touch of sky

For a moment world was ours, my dear

Too beautiful to be a lie

A star, a wish, a dream come true

I never saw it coming by

Sparkling redness is now blue

You’re not mine, it makes me cry

New year’s eve with all its glimmering glory

With the sparkling fireworks and shining glow

In my heart I’ll always keep our true story

as I return to northern snow

 

love

Leave a Reply

