politicky generational things.

Hi. I’m a capitalist.

There’s a lot of influences to the contrary on this decision: I am a millennial, a female, a college student, an enthusiast of Swedish (almost) everything, etc. Also I have worked as a language counselor at Concordia Language Villages, who are not overly political but who are not conservative. And I consider myself educated. WOAH WHAT.

Whether or not I’m right isn’t the point of this post, however. I’m not sure what the actual point is, but you know. We’ll get there.

As a member of my particular generation, I often feel in the minority when my entire age group all get their cyber-knickers in wads about whatever it is – feminism, minimum wage, this or that social injustice lately, whatever.

(Feminism and minimum wage are my pet soapboxes, by the way.)

Anyway, the point is I disagree with a lot of my fellow millennials on a lot of things, but don’t usually feel comfortable sharing those things with those other people on the Internet. Am I a coward? A peacekeeper? Too lazy to fight with people who aren’t inclined to agree with me regardless of the convincitude (well, I tried) of my evidence or arguments or pleas or pathos – is that it?

I have no idea.

And this, I think, speaks of something troubling – of a fear to express my views in mainstream forums because I’ll get ostracized.

Why? I don’t know.

It could be just me. It could be a lot of other people. But I, a young conservative female (and usually the Internet loves “groundbreaking” females), am afraid to say what I think because the threat of harassment from people who disagree with me (read: liberals) is too great.

I say liberals because generally the people who disagree with conservatives are liberals.

Now to illustrate something.

On the bus from MSP airport to Sjölunden this summer, the person sitting across the aisle from me and Ronja, who shall go unnamed, was reading a book entitled Chomsky on Anarchy. I am conservative and do not like anarchy or Noam Chomsky’s politics (his linguistics are okay). But I immediately respected this person. Why?

Let’s take this logically.

I am conservative.

I believe in conservative ideologies.

Conservative ideologies and liberal ideologies do not agree.

I do not agree with liberal ideologies. (Frankly, I believe them to be a load of bunk, but that’s beside the point.)

I do not believe in the validity of liberal ideologies, because they fight the validity of the ideologies I do believe.

I do not believe in the intelligence of people who believe in the validity of liberal ideologies.

Makes sense, right?

And yet I immediately respected the Chomsky reader on the bus. Why?

After pondering that I am thinking that I know. It is because he was declaring his belief, obviously and outwardly. He knows what he wants to think, and he doesn’t care that everyone else knows it.

I need to be like that. Clearly I have my own ideology to stick to, but the same characteristic needs to be one I adopt.

And frankly, if it is true of more people of our generation than me, it is sad that we have the problem that half of us are scared to share our ideology, because we are unsure of it or of its acceptance among our peers.

Also, please note that this is a Republican scolding you about tolerance, and let that make you aware of two things:

1. Tolerance is important.

2. Republicans are not all evil. Some of us have pretty good hearts.

 

Leave a Reply

