a thing i did not do.

Well, today I didn’t do a thing.

This is normal, even predictable, but I’m feeling like I definitely should have done the specific thing to which I am referring.

Last night I went and saw a play called Boy Gets Girl. It was terrifying, beautiful, sad and perfect. I went with Derek, Kory and Kailyn, as per my usual social MO.

This morning I went to a class taught by a young, cute guy only a couple years older than I am, and throughout the class his cell phone was ringing. Same ringtone every time. He didn’t answer and would exasperatedly say things like, “I’m being stalked, you guys, I’m telling you.” When he slipped out of the room to get something, another person in the class who knows him mentioned that the continual caller is his ex-fiancee.

In light of the fact that I had an intro (hey, there’s a play about being stalked going on tonight) and didn’t need to make a big deal out of it, I thought maybe I’d tell him about it. Then, in my head, he’d ask if I were going and I’d say I’d thought about it and we’d go together. I didn’t even intend for it to be date-y. I really want to try the whole learn to know people instead of appreciate attentions thing.

And then I didn’t do it.

I may regret this one day, or maybe I won’t, but either way, I’m sort of bummed right now that I didn’t.

Oh well. The past is much like spilled milk: crying over it is ridiculous. Generally.

As a quick side note, this is my 200th blog post. Clearly, I spend too much time doing this.

EDIT – Next day: I actually did it – via text, like a weirdo. I didn’t receive a response until it was too late, but he was perfectly nice about it, and I was too, I think, and all in all, I asked a guy out and we were both adults about it and THAT IS A PERFECTLY GOOD THING, and quite honestly a success even if it didn’t amount to anything happening. So there, universe.

Leave a Reply

