salt lake city adventure.

So I went to Salt Lake City with my friends this weekend. And I am dead tired and do not want to move for anybody or anything, but it was absolutely wonderful. I ran about taking pictures on Saturday and it was fun, but the best part happened on Friday, when, at SLC Comic-Con, we met (and got a picture with) Matt Smith.

Honestly, I felt a bit scummy about it, being one of the thousands who rushed by him that day, but then I realize it was Matt Smith and my natural human reaction to celebrity ( = EEEEK!) takes over. The weirdest part, frankly, is that he is real. Like, he’s a human being who is not actually as tall as he looked on screen (thanks to Jenna Coleman and the heels of the shoes he wears, most likely) and had his phone in his pocket (you can see it there on his thigh) and everything.

I kind of cringe at the hilarious story that came out of the picture below, but it’s funny, so here goes. Derek (far left) had a picture with his mom and sister right before ours, so he got to stand with Matt Smith for ten seconds while his mom and sister moved out and we moved in. Kory (far right) was ahead of me as we moved to pose and Matt Smith goes to put his arm around Kory, but (and we had agreed on this beforehand) Kory said, “Oh, Erika wanted to be next to you.” So I slipped in between them. Then, completely unbeknownst to me as Matt Smith and Kory are both taller than I, Matt Smith turns to Kory, rolls his eyes and mouths, “Women.” Then we pose, grin, shake, Matt claps us on the back and tells us to have a nice day, and that was it.

I didn’t know it had happened until it was over and we were trucking out and the post-excitement adrenaline was making it hard to walk and Kory was bursting to tell somebody that he had shared a joke with Matt Smith. And forever after this, my claim to fame will be that Matt Smith rolled his eyes at me once.

It was a good weekend.

Yeah...that happened.

Yeah…that happened.

 

Farmers' market fun

Farmers’ market fun

 

DSCN0013

An array of apples (I can alliterate)

 

These people were smushing up apples and putting them through that silver tube machine back there...

These people were smushing up apples and putting them through that silver tube machine back there…

 

DSCN0015

 

...and this is the resulting cider.

…and this is the resulting cider.

 

DSCN0017

various goodies

 

DSCN0018

breads and berries (further alliteration)

 

DSCN0019

It was a nutty weekend in more respects than one.

 

Other people's vegetables and realizing I should probably find the macro setting

Other people’s vegetables and realizing I should probably find the macro setting

 

DSCN0025

Bok choy (spelling?)

 

DSCN0028

note description in foreground: bacon sourdough.

 

Awesome food truck feat. bluish-haired stranger

Awesome food truck feat. bluish-haired stranger

 

Inside the Rio Grande train station, where the farmers' market is held in winter

Inside the Rio Grande train station, where the farmers’ market is held in winter

 

Finally found the macro setting

Finally found the macro setting

 

DSCN0034

although what Old Yeller and cheese have to do with each other I have no idea.

 

The sexiest loaf of bread I have ever seen

The sexiest loaf of bread I have ever seen

 

DSCN0039

Given that the R is slightly obscured, this looks more like “aw honey.”

 

DSCN0040

ein Bisschen Schokolade

 

DSCN0042

say cheese (note: I did not say that as I took this picture)

 

This is elk salami, apparently made by a gent from Austria who lives nearby.

This is elk salami, apparently made by a gent from Austria who lives nearby.

 

This is Petunia the pig. I have no idea what her significance is.

This is Petunia the pig. I have no idea what her significance is.

 

DSCN0049

I love old buildings.

 

DSCN0053

Perhaps it is the home away from home of döner kebab. I think the actual home is Turkey.

 

Adorable, slightly lonely chair outside an antique shop run by a woman I think was from Germany

Adorable, slightly lonely chair outside an antique shop run by a woman I think was from Germany

 

Middle-of-the-street art

Middle-of-the-street art

 

DSCN0062

Side-of-the-street art

 

Surreptitious plate photo in the basement of the German lady's shop

Surreptitious plate photo in the basement of the German lady’s shop

 

Star Trek VHSs in a thrift shop

Star Trek VHSs in a thrift shop

 

...yes, that many

…yes, that many

 

Colorful bike-rack-like things plus head-scratching architecture in background

Colorful bike-rack-like things plus head-scratching architecture in background

 

This was an open-air restaurant called Gracie's. I'm pretty sure the graffiti was intentional.

This was an open-air restaurant called Gracie’s. I’m pretty sure the graffiti was intentional.

 

And some trees to finish out the day.

And some trees to finish out the day.

 

I love living in the western U.S.

I love living in the western U.S.

 

DSCN0077

“Be the day short or be the day long, at last it weareth to evening song.”

 

DSCN0078

Contemplative feat. too much glare

 

DSCN0079

I love long shadows mainly because of long rays of light.

 

DSCN0081

I like to think of this photo as the moon being shot off the catapult-esque trees.

 

DSCN0083

“And sometimes there were voices singing.” – Alden Nowlan, “I, Icarus”

Leave a Reply

