give me a.

Historically I have been moderately okay at writing poetry, but also historically it’s fallen greatly off since 2013. I didn’t even write that many angsty poems after Matt broke up with me. So basically the pipes through which my poetry flows are rusty, but here’s something I thought was okay.

Give me a lover who sings in the shower,
Because by this I know he is not ashamed of himself.
Give me a lover who insists I not interrupt him,
Who neither interrupts me,
Because by this I know he values words.
Give me a lover who opens his window once in a while,
Because by this I know that though he may have work to do, he won’t be shut in all day.
Give me a lover who forgets to come to dinner because he is lost in a book,
Because by this I know he is sympathetic and steadfast.
(And the conversation when he finally emerges will be that much better.)
Give me a lover who quotes constantly,
Because by this I know he appreciates beautiful things and wants to keep them near himself.
Give me a lover who runs down hills for the joy of it,
Because by this I know his heart is young.
Give me a lover who runs up hills for the joy of reaching the top,
Because by this I know he will reach his goals.
Give me a lover who watches the sunset,
Because by this I know he does not mind endings.
Give me a lover who is kind to the helpless,
Because by this I know that when I am helplessly in love with him, it will not put me in danger to be so at his mercy.
Give me a lover who sleeps contentedly next to me,
Because by this I know his conscience is not keeping him awake.
Give me a lover who rises early,
Because by this I know he would steal the quiet hours. What for? It does not matter.
Give me a lover who dances,
Because by this I know I cannot take away his joy.
Give me a lover who does not mind that I know the worst of him,
Because by this I know he trusts me with his vulnerability.
By this I know he loves me.
Give me a lover who forgives,
Because by this I know I can neither erase, forget nor abandon his love.

I also have an idea for a short story, so that’s hopeful.

Leave a Reply

