the songs that give me chills.

Sonny’s Dream, as performed by basically anyone (including adapted versions with lyrics different from the original, such as Hayley Westenra’s)

Sonny, don’t go away, I am here all alone
And your daddy’s a sailor who never comes home
And the nights are so long and the silence goes on
And I’m feelin’ so tired and not all that strong

Sonny lives on a farm in a wide open space
Kick off your sneakers and let go the race
And you can lay down your head by a sweet river bed
But Sonny always remembers what it was his mama said

Sonny, don’t go away, I am here all alone
And your daddy’s a sailor who never comes home
And the nights are so long and the silence goes on
And I’m feelin’ so tired and not all that strong

Sonny carries a load, though he’s barely a man
There ain’t much to do, yet he does what he can
He watches the sea from a room by the stairs
The waves keep on rollin’, they’ve done that for years

Sonny, don’t go away, I am here all alone
And your daddy’s a sailor who never comes home
And the nights are so long and the silence goes on
And I’m feelin’ so tired and not all that strong

It’s a hundred miles to town, Sonny’s never been there
Yet he goes to the highway and stands there and stares
And the mail comes at four and the mailman is old
But he still keeps his dreams full of silver and gold

Sonny, don’t go away, I am here all alone
And your daddy’s a sailor who never comes home
And the nights are so long and the silence goes on
And I’m feelin’ so tired and not all that strong

Sonny’s dreams can’t be real, they’re just stories he’s read
They’re just stars in his eyes, they’re just dreams in his head
Still he longs in his mind for the wild world outside
And I know I can’t hold him though I’ve tried
And I’ve tried, and I’ve tried

Sonny, don’t go away, I am here all alone
And your daddy’s a sailor who never comes home
And the nights are so long and the silence goes on
And I’m feelin’ so tired and not all that strong

Additional verse from the Christy Moore and Hayley Westenra versions:

Many years have rolled on, Sonny’s old and alone
His daddy the sailor never came home
Sometimes he wonders what his life might have been
But still from the grave Mama’s voice haunts his dreams

[Chorus]

Wind and Rain, as performed by Paul and Kim Caudell (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=US7xP2o8Wp0)

There were two sisters of county Clare,
Oh, the wind and rain
One was dark and the other was fair,
Oh, the dreadful wind and rain
And they both had a love of the miller’s son,
Oh, the wind and rain
But he was fond of the fairer one,
Oh, the dreadful wind and rain
So she pushed her into the river to drown
oh, the wind and rain
and watched her as she floated down
oh, the dreadful wind and rain
and she floated till she came to the millers pond
oh, the wind and the rain
dead on the water like a golden swan
oh, the dreadful wind and rain
as she came to rest on the riverside
oh, the wind and the rain
and her bones were washed by the rolling tide
oh, the dreadful wind and rain
and along the road came a fiddler fair
oh, the wind and rain
and found her bones just a lying there, cried
oh, the dreadful wind and rain
so he made a fiddle peg of her long finger bone
oh, the wind and the rain
he a made a fiddle peg of her long finger bone, crying
oh, the dreadful wind and rain
and he strung his fiddle bow with her long yeller hair
oh, the wind and the rain
he strung his fiddle bow with her long yeller hair, cried
oh, the dreadful wind and rain
and he made a fiddle fiddle of her breast bone
oh, the wind and rain
he made a fiddle fiddle of her breast bone, cried
oh, the dreadful wind and rain
but the only tune that the fiddle could play was
oh, the wind and rain
the only tune that the fiddle would play was
oh, the dreadful wind and rain

Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah, with all seven verses, as performed by Cohen himself or by Molly Sandén in Swedish

I’ve heard there was a secret chord
That David played, and it pleased the Lord
But you don’t really care for music, do you?
It goes like this
The fourth, the fifth
The minor fall, the major lift
The baffled king composing Hallelujah
[Chorus]
Your faith was strong but you needed proof
You saw her bathing on the roof
Her beauty in the moonlight overthrew you
She tied you to a kitchen chair
She broke your throne, and she cut your hair
And from your lips she drew the Hallelujah
[Chorus]
Baby I have been here before
I know this room, I’ve walked this floor
I used to live alone before I knew you.
I’ve seen your flag on the marble arch
Love is not a victory march
It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah
[Chorus]
There was a time when you let me know
What’s really going on below
But now you never show it to me, do you?
And remember when I moved in you
The holy dove was moving too
And every breath we drew was Hallelujah
[Chorus]
Maybe there’s a God above
But all I’ve ever learned from love
Was how to shoot at someone who outdrew you
It’s not a cry you can hear at night
It’s not somebody who has seen the light
It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah
[Chorus]
You say I took the name in vain
I don’t even know the name
But if I did, well, really, what’s it to you?
There’s a blaze of light in every word
It doesn’t matter which you heard
The holy or the broken Hallelujah
[Chorus]
I did my best, it wasn’t much
I couldn’t feel, so I tried to touch
I’ve told the truth, I didn’t come to fool you
And even though it all went wrong
I’ll stand before the Lord of Song
With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah

Or, in Swedish:

Det finns en sång som säger allt
Som värmer när det blåser kallt

Som lockar dig att gråta eller jubla
Den har nånting som griper tag
Och leder dig från natt till dag
Och plötsligt vill du sjunga hallelujah

Den visar att vi hör ihop
Som ett försiktigt glädjerop
förenar det oss i det bitterljuva
det liv vi måste klara av
och allt vi tog och allt vi gav
så vi kan våga ropa hallelujah

Det är en sång om enkelhet
Det lilla som vi alla vet
Den talar till det vackra och det fula
Den bådar oss i månens sken
Så självande men ändå ren
Ett sprucket men ett vackert hallelujah

Och alla drömmar vi har drömt
De vackra som vi nästan glömt
Finns kvar och vi kan inte längre ljuga
Du ropar och man hör din röst
Du har ett ord som ger dig tröst
Ett naket och ett enkelt hallelujah

Night Rider’s Lament as performed by Chris LeDoux (though it’s better sung by my dad)

While I was out a’ridin’
Graveyard shift midnight till dawn
The moon was as bright as a readin’ light
For a letter from an old friend back home

And he asked me

Why do you ride for your money?
Tell me why do you rope for short pay?
You ain’t getting nowhere and you’re losing your share
Well you must have gone crazy out there

He tells me last night he ran into Jenny
She’s married and has a good life
Boy you sure missed the track when you never came back
She’s the perfect professional’s wife
And she asked him,

Why does he ride for his money?
Tell me why does he rope for short pay?
He ain’t gettin’ nowhere and he’s losing his share
Well he must have gone crazy out there

But they ain’t never seen the northern lights
They ain’t never seen a hawk on the wing
They ain’t never seen spring hit the Great Divide
They never heard old camp cookie sing

Well I read up the last of my letter
And I tore off the stamp for black Jim
Bill he rode up to relieve me
He just looked at my letter and grinned
And he said you know I wonder

Why do they ride for their money?
Tell me why do they rope for short pay?
They ain’t gettin’ nowhere and they’re losing their share
They all must be crazy back there

But they ain’t never seen the northern lights
They ain’t never seen a hawk on the wing
They ain’t never seen spring hit the Great Divide
They ain’t never heard old camp cookie sing

They ain’t never seen the northern lights
They ain’t never seen a hawk on the wing
They ain’t never seen spring hit the Great Divide
They ain’t never heard old camp cookie sing

**This is actually a song that my dad sang to me when I was little, and would change the lyrics from “camp cookie” to my name, and later adding my sisters’ names to the later choruses. And frankly, this song helps me understand my dad, and also myself. It’s wonderful.**

Leave a Reply

