this dress.

I’m listening to a song called “This Shirt” by Mary Chapin Carpenter, which is one of my favorites in all the world. And I also went to a fancyish dinner party tonight, and I am being obstreperously subjective when I say that we were the best-looking pair in the room.

Really, though.

But the best part was afterwards, walking out of there with not a lot of love lost for most of the people we’d just left behind (well, in most cases), and going for a walk up where the signs of civilization are few and far between, and not even talking terribly much, but goodness knows it was the best part of my day: better than awards at a banquet, better than knowing my phone will be fixed tomorrow, better than signing the consent form for my contribution to Derek’s folklore project to be archived in the library (!), better even than the whistle Sam gave when he looked up and saw me.

It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

