why 2016 feels weird.

“I grow old, I grow old,” though I am not exactly wearing the bottoms of my trousers rolled.

Anyway, I rang in 2016 on an island off the coast of Sweden, playing Ring of Fire and getting drunk on cheap Australian wine with good, if new, friends. At 12:06 I went outside, I don’t remember why, but this is when I realized we could see the fireworks on the mainland from our front porch.

Nevertheless, 2016 feels weird.

I wrote long ago that “2014 feels weird, and I think it’s because for so long the year I looked forward to was 2013.”

This has kind of continued to be true. Every time there is a new year, I sort of get surprised by it. Which is completely irrational, as it is a fairly regular, depend-on-able occurrence. But still, I am oddly surprised by the arrival of 2016.

I will turn twenty-one this year. There are high chances that I will move into my own apartment, maybe get some really truly intentional jobs, goodness knows what other adulty things. It’s kind of scary to think of how much is coming at me so quickly. I did not think post-study abroad would be so intense. Perhaps this is just life, picking up speed. I thought it was just NEW COUNTRY AHHH. Oh well, I’m on my way; I have good friends, lovely family, darlingest boyfriend: they will be funny adventures, if not well-orchestrated ones.

(Which reminds me, I have a couple emails to send.)

Leave a Reply

