arbitrary favorites.

I’ve maintained for many years that I’m bad at picking favorites, and I absolutely am, though I’ve gotten better. But I’m not sorry: some days, some songs are better than others, and I’ll never be fully committed to loving any one season more than any other because they are all. So. Beautiful.

In 2014, avoiding studying for my econ final, I wrote that

Well, I suck at favorites; it’s just a law of the universe. I will probably never be able to pick a favorite book or a favorite music artist, and I’ve come to terms with that.

Pretty much still true. I can’t stop glorying in the amazingness of more than one music style at a time. I’m not sorry. I’m not!

Anyway, SCHOOL. IS. OUT! And I am happy about it. In case you can’t tell. And I like to randomly say, “Oh, x is my favorite,” so much that my boyfriend has commented that I seem to love a lot of weird things. I mean, I regularly talk to him about my love for smoked paprika and cumin. I can’t help it. They’re just so brilliant and lovely.

So I thought I’d talk about some random, goofy, favorite things I have in a whole load of mostly arbitrary categories. This allows me to be (a) specific enough to actually pick a favorite and (b) entertaining.

doctor Christopher Eccleston, forever and always

spices Smoked paprika, cumin, and probably thyme

Billy Joel album An Innocent Man and Turnstiles

language I’ve already studied Swedish, easily

language that’s on my future list uff…Russian, or maybe Latvian?

social network tie between Twitter and Tumblr

political commentator At the moment? Milo Yiannopoulos (I intend to idolize Milton Friedman once I read his stuff more thoroughly though)

ASOIAF/GOT character tie between Jon Snow and Sansa Stark

color red, grey, navy, yellow

class in high school Journalism, German, choir

place I’ve visited Kiruna or Riga

thing about my hometown Scout Hollow

thing to eat for breakfast potato/egg frittata or baked oatmeal

song ‘And So It Goes’ by Billy Joel

love song ‘Dancing in the Minefields’ by Andrew Petersen

song in Swedish ‘vårvindar friska’ or ‘nu grönskar det’

way to keep in shape swimming

nickname Nobody calls me Red except Derek, but I still love the idea of being called that, although I also answer to other secret sweet things my boyfriend calls me

historical figure Queen Kristina of Sweden was pretty cool; I also like Christine de Pizan

childhood memory mom teaching me to skip in the backyard, or playing tag with dad while feeding the dogs

word you can think of right now obsequious. We’ll go with that.

Swedish word kanske, maybe

Sherlock Holmes story A Study in Scarlet

pizza topping chicken and green peppers is pretty good, but I’m kind of a straight up cheese gal

instrument to listen to STRINGS IN GENERAL, but I really enjoy cello

president Calvin Coolidge (and also Grace Coolidge was goals)

pun “The past, the present and the future walk into a bar — it was tense.”

thing to nerd out about grammar

font Bit of a Times New Roman convert these days, but I still love Adobe system fonts like Minion and Caslon

movie The Princess Bride, always

L’Engle book

authors Madeleine L’Engle, C. S. Lewis, e. e. cummings, George Eliot, L. M. Montgomery, Fyodor Dostoevsky

historical period to obsess over as a child Ancient Rome

*note: Apparently I wasn’t the only kid to have one of these weird fixations, according to a post I saw on Tumblr the other day, and now that I think about it, at least one of my sisters had one too! Funny how these things work

discipline of mathematics somewhere my child self is crying, but…algebra and possibly stats, for all that I complain about it

city (yeah, cause I’m so learned in terms of what makes a cool city, but anyway) Riga, Minneapolis, Seattle, Salt Lake City (also Stockholm is cool but I don’t really see myself living there)

book as a kid Equally difficult to answer, although, if you want to know, I had a middle-school clinical obsession with Agatha Christie

type of cookie Oatmeal chocolate chip or white chocolate cranberry

dessert pie, pie pie pie

toast topping peanut butter or cream cheese

tea earl grey, especially Russian or lemon

place to be at school in the library or at my spot above Davis Field

football team tie between the New York Giants and the Green Bay Packers

thing to cook mac n cheese from scratch, frittatas, homemade fries, red beans and rice

poem ‘since feeling is first’ by e. e. cummings, ‘The Old Astronomer’ by Sarah Williams, or ‘The Birth of Language’ by C. S. Lewis

thing about summer sleeping with the window open

old, cheesy sitcom The Bob Newhart Show (probably closely followed by The Odd Couple)

fictional universe tie between L’Engle’s and A Song of Ice and Fire

Doctor Who companion Martha Jones and Clara Oswald

toy as a child the Good Night, Moon bunny (his name is Bunners)

weather Anything dry. I hate rain so much.

thing to do in the snow skiing! although I need more snowball fights in my life.

flowers anything red, carnations, daisies, tulips are super pretty

music artists Mary Chapin Carpenter, Billy Joel, Ella Fitzgerald, Pentatonix, Mannheim Steamroller

composers Chopin, Bach, Debussy, Beethoven

Leave a Reply

